Subliminal


Lately I find that I cannot reason with most of the people that surround me. I say this because last night I realized that with most of my female associates if I do not agree to talk about hair, nails, fashion, or gossip negative things about a public female figure we would never speak. I do not know why they keep making the topics or ideas that I initiate futile.

 

For example;

Mind you, this is a basic and uncomplicated topic.

 

Here goes…… I went to a friend’s home and they were watching the Shonnet Moore show (god forbid). Shonnet feature was the handing over ceremony for the Miss Jam zone Pageant. The winner’s prize was a motor car and I guess a few lil things. While Shonnet was interviewing the young woman that won I suggested that instead of giving a motor car why the promoters did not gave a scholarship to the University of the West Indies instead, my friend agreed and added that the promoter could have used the money spent on the car and pay for the winner’s tuition. I agreed and added that paying for the tuition alone makes no sense and then I asked the relevant rhetorical questions such as; where is the girl going to live? What is she going to eat? How is she going to get there? To my surprise, my friend answered saying that the girl would have to come up with the other half. Wtf? 

I asked how we know for sure that the winner can afford to live in a foreign state and go to the University of the West Indies. My friend said that she could get the support from her parents, this suggestion led to more rhetorical questions being asked by me and then I realized that the conversation was never going to go anywhere so I ended it.

 

I have noticed that when having a conversation with most of the people that surround me they would opt for the predictable point of view or some may blatantly say that they do not know what I am referring to instead of inquiring. Now let me say this once and for all, among my friends I am not the most intelligent person. I can remember that there was a time when conversations went so well, ideas flowed easily, and now it is as if we are speaking different languages, or maybe we are becoming enemies. Maybe this is happening because we are all evolving in a dissimilar sphere, but how can you all not think ,open your eyes and see this ‘mosaic’ we call life independently. Are you going to extend this realm of being spoon-fed?

We are all adults hence we are free to decode situations and not just continue to follow the trend or what society perceives as fitting or ingenuous. I am not saying that we should be radicals or that we must disobey our superiors. I am saying that it is not because our heads say that we should be a certain way we should accept it and just be complacent.

Naturally, we are not the same. Some of us are conservatives, anarchist, and liberals thus our views differ yet we suppress our outlook all because we are afraid of what people may think of us.

 

I have been interacting with an old friend and he has always been unique. I am sure if I would allow him to make a public speech about his belief, insight and /or reasoning 95% of the listeners are going to deem him insane.

 

I do not blame them for that said percentage I believe is subliminal.

 I guess making new friends is indeed inevitable.

 

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stolid Charisma  On September 6, 2008 at 12:44 am

    You sound fashion conscience. I guess you’re about 20 like your friend..

    Am, I agree with your friend. Paying the tuition alone can work. There is a process in selecting contestants and they can select contestants on the basis that they can pitch in the other half.

    But I’m not too much of a fan of the idea of paying for them to study. Or even giving them a car… $40,000 as I’ve said.

    Hey.. that’s a lot of money for doing nothing.

  • Samantha  On September 8, 2008 at 2:28 am

    “Thank you for the enlightening post. Appreciate it a lot.
    Subliminal messaging can indeed be very powerful. Interesting enough, a website http://www.chargedaudio.com (non-aff link) sells a bunch of subliminal programs. Might be interesting to check them out. “

  • raptus8  On September 8, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    hmmm fishing i c.

    nice try stolid but your guess was incorrect.

    On the tuition topic(which was a minor example),i think you missed the moral of this post, now usually tuition is the only thing thats paid for(note usually)you see my point is why should we sit back and allow things (in general)to flow just because it has been so for decades? can’t we think and modify them hence paving a new way for our offsprings. We are conditioned to accept everything as gospel just because our forefathers said so, which should not be.

  • Stolid Charisma  On September 8, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    They say never change an old boundary mark your forefathers set. Too many times I’ve ignored them and had to peddle back later in life. Your forefathers are not stupid, if following their every command is too much to ask, you should atleast let it influence you..

    Doing as you please is like experimenting from scratch, that experimenting has already been done for you if you think about it.

  • raptus8  On September 8, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Good point Stolid ….Yes, our ancestors have contributed a lot to humanity but are we going to stop here?.(If you may Read paragraph 3 line 6 onwards plz).
    Because of technology, globalization and other factors, most of their patterns/actions seem flawed at present and we have to feel the effects of it.

    E.g. In this country(Guyana), most of the traffic laws are unjustly and repeatedly we see the injustice. A mini bus driver transporting passengers may speed on the roadways while being intoxicated (unknowing to the passengers) and if he kills everyone and survives, he knows that he will only be charged for reckless driving. Now tell me stolid isn’t that bullocks?

  • Stolid Charisma  On September 9, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    There is nothing new under the sun.

Leave a Reply

