Yeyo


Glad to be here, Glad that I was born by a young boorish 17 year old Guyanese woman and not from an African woman who will permit the leader or aspiring doctor of the tribe by the time I’m 7 or 9 years old to force me to sit naked in very cold water for an hour until my vagina numbs then cut off my clitoris and labia majora using a knife, razor, piece of glass, or possibly a piece of a tin can after five other girls and then use thorns to sew it.

When I see my mother and look at her reaction to situations and thinking patterns I must admit that it annoys the shit out of me and I am mortified to say that 75% of the times I do think that she is plain old dim-witted and her resistance to listen to me explain logic to her makes me also conclude that she is an imbecile.

Simple logic is hard for her to understand and it drives me up the wall to see her spend her money over and over on one project in the house or a specific item in the house that was spoiled …….damn if only she listen to me when I told her not to overload that frigging point. Her justifications are so silly that very often I find myself laughing at her, in front of her and I would simultaneously receive a slap.

::Exhale::… yet she is my Yeyo (meaning mother in Swahili Maasai damn Eryka misinformed me but i still love her music), I always miss her and to this day I do cuddle with her….i love smelling her, she is the most beautiful woman in this world, she is my ma and pa. When I’m sick and down and out she is always there.

Damn..I love her and can’t do without her.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Malaika  On April 23, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Hey,
    Interesting post, I guess we all have mothers who drive us up at wall at times. But thankful it isn’t worse as it is really atrocious what still happens to this day in rural villages,

    yeyo is actually the maasai word for mother … not swahili (which is mama).
    Maybe it became thought of as swahili because of erykah badu?

  • sly  On April 24, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Sigh. The things we have to deal with.

  • stolidcharisma  On April 27, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    I read something about cold water in this post that is preventing me from blinking or pounctuating and I am too scared to check and see what exactly it was that I read

  • raptus  On April 28, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Welcome Malika and yes your Eryka badu notion is correct :).

  • Stolid Charisma.  On April 28, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Sure.. ignore me in my time of pain.

  • Malaika  On April 28, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Hey Raptus,
    If you like Yeyo, and you are interested in that type of music, you can check out Miriam Makeba, if you don’t already know her as she is quite popular not only for her voice but her work against apartheid.
    She is amazing, sings mostly in xhosa I think but does swahili also phonetically. Of course the song Malaika she sings with Harry Belafonte is one of my favourites.
    Sadly died last year. 😦

  • raptus  On April 28, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Dear Stolid,
    Please use google to help yourself.

    Hey Malika is that the South African woman that was recognised and supported everywhere else except in her birth country? I have never listened to her but the other i saw a piece about her on the tele. Thanks for the tip:-).

  • raptus  On April 28, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    day*

  • guyana gyal  On April 29, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Girl, what ah must say? Every mother drives her daughter nuts sometimes. But guess what, if you’re the mother of a girl one day……………………hehe…

    Malaika is such a beautiful name.

    And Miriam Makeba is one of my favourite singers. My mother is one of her biggest fans, she even has a beautiful story of the time she *discovered* her, on the radio, long ago.

  • raptus  On April 30, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I’m praying to the Gods to give me five boys but not everything yuh pray fuh yoou does get.. so i’m making notes just in case a girl pops up.

    Wow Guyana gyal your mother probably dicovered Miriam Makeba back in the days when GBC was rocking.

  • raptus  On April 30, 2009 at 9:30 am

    oops where is my manners WELCOME GUYANA GYAL, Here have a piece of fruit cake …….which do you prefer lime swank , sorrel drink or water:-)?
    dont ask me for nun fancy ….i can’t afford it.

  • Malaika  On April 30, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Yes, it is a weakness of mine, pretty names
    (maybe I am compensating for something …)

    I don’t think I have ever heard Makeba on the radio, but then again, I am probably way too young for that. I became interested when I saw Ipi N’Tombi on HBTV (probably the only good thing they were showing back in the day). I think it was Singana who was the singer and I was taken by the amazing music and her voice. That got me into Makeba and a couple years ago I saw Umoja live in concert and it was amazing. I would recommend that to anyone if they are touring anywhere near you in the future.

  • stolidcharisma  On May 4, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    This is a stain on our relationship..

    I don’t love you no more.

  • raptus  On May 4, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    huh? is me you talking to stolid or the woman you will like to mother your kids?

  • stolidcharisma  On May 4, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    You I talking tuh..

    Ignoring my baxside…

  • raptus  On May 7, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    what do you want me to say? what do you want me to do? I’m confused stolly.

  • guyana gyal  On May 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    T’anks, I like swank and sorrel. I like ice-cole wata too. Me ain’t too like dem foreign, foreign things wid preservatives.

    My mother discovered Makeba in the sixties.

    Wait til you get you 5 boy pickney, you gon wish for TEN daughters 🙂

Leave a Reply

