Veto on comments


I am contemplating to remove my comment section.  

Look at which post got the most comments….Timeka Marshall’s. So I asked myself…

Why should a post that is based on my views about a popular young woman having over 30 comments? I was only logically pointing out how inadequate and immoral her music is, added to that it was an effort to open the eyes of my readers to see how influential music is especially in our society.  Not only is this phenomenon occurring here but check this out for further evidence of what I speak.

Why are my readers overlooking or ignoring the litigious posts such as this and this which were addressing the serious issues and plights we are/were facing in this country? I refuse to think that the main reason those posts did not grab the attention of my readers ‘Like hot cakes” is because the people commenting are simply mindless. I was not seeking agreement in those posts.  To tell the truth I was prepared an anxiously awaiting an intellectual dialogue or debate.

I do appreciate the comments this blog has generated so far but there must a balance…by that I mean that there must be a time for playing, poking fun at Stolid, sharing our creativity, trading barbs with Legumous and lastly a time for expressing our perspective about how our country is being managed. I will continue to monitor the situation…

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • stolidcharisma  On May 11, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    AH ha-ha..

    They got you. Lets fuk up this comment section too!

  • Malaika  On May 11, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I like that you brought this up. I have been wondering why others do this too. I am one of these you speak of, I try to stay far away from most political posts

    The green mango post on 911 was absolute nonsense and completely out of hand. Both sides hurling dirt at each other is not a discussion and this post was an exception.

    I don’t see any problem with your Timeka post I thought some people responded on the most part sensibly (although there are those who cannot speak without turning to gutter talk). Some agreed with you, others didn’t, this is what a discussion is.

    I cannot speak for others but some political posts I completely ignore because I deem them ignorant rants (no I am not referring to your posts specifically Raptus). Ignorant because some people just cannot see the other side of the coin and are so set in their narrow-minded assessment it is useless to bring up an alternate view. This hardly ever leads to a proper discussion, instead the contributor and others shall launch a personal attack on your race/religion/sexuality. I don’t mind people disagreeing with me, you may give me a new perspective, but I personally find the crude attacks tiring and a waste of my time.

    I find Guyanese politics a very, very touchy subject and sometimes posting your comments online puts you in the line of fire (I can assure you there is a very thin wall protecting my anonymity … from experience).

    I think you have hit on a very good point here:
    “there must be a time for playing, poking fun at Stolid, sharing our creativity, trading barbs with Legumous and lastly a time for expressing our perspective about how our country is being managed”
    And I agree with you, I guess I shall try to comment more on the ‘real’ issues instead of the fluff. Within reason of course since I think I shall still keep away from the majority of the politics.

    That said I think it is silly (and I have told Stolid this too) to disable the comment sections. My suggestion would be to moderate it better. If you don’t like a comment such as this and think it is useless then don’t accept it. But then again I am not in your shoes so I concede that I know nothing about blogging.

  • Malaika  On May 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    HOLY CRAP.
    That was long.I think my comment was even longer than most of Lucinda’s. This path I am going down seems wrong.

  • Silver Dragon  On May 11, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Damn right.

  • Observer  On May 12, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Our country has run out of logical thinkers like a car running out of gas on a 50 mile road. Our society has turned into a ‘you lead…I’ll follow’ society therefore, some will follow the crowd without thinking while others will stop and reason out a explaination
    Exhibit A – your Timeka Marshall post..

  • Ace  On May 12, 2009 at 6:29 am

    While i do agree on certain aspect. I’m also wondering why would u consider removing the comment section base on what viewers find appealing to discuss on, as maliaka said “politics too touchy”, PLIGHT hahaha. WHAT PLIGHT there is a plight in GUYANA ?if so Is anything being done about it other than post and the usual discussion?don’t think so.
    Conclusion if u don’t like them don’t accept them

  • Raptus  On May 12, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Trust me when I say that I have no problem moderating my comments. My basis for considering removing my comment section is as mentioned above……. People are evading the more serious items. No one is willing to debate or contribute to those items which I think reflects grossly on our society. The Observer has a pointed it out very vividly for all. The comment section in any blog is where discussions are created based on the topic, in the case with the Green Mango post in Guyana911 you can see that the most of the comments had nothing to do with the play on words or puns Legumous did in his post.

    p.s. This is not a laughing matter Stolid.

  • stolidcharisma  On May 12, 2009 at 10:06 am

    As Silver Dragon said.. damn right.

    Control your damn self.

Leave a Reply

