Nappy hair is bad?


Nappy, a historically derogatory term used to describe Black people’s hair.  I hate that term.

Anyways check this video out to see what some black women think about their real hair texture.  That video was taken from the  Tyra Banks Show, as you will notice Tyra decided to get rid of her blonde …long fake hair she would usually wear on the show that day. 

When I was younger my mother was too impatient to take care of my kinky-curly hair so she slapped chemicals into it to get it straight/manageable. The straightened hair was great but  fake ….that was not me it was not what God gave me so I cut it all off about 2 months ago and eventhough nowadays  I may not look trendy or like the ordinary Jane Doe out there  I’m happy. I’m happy with my Kinky-curly,out of control, frizzy, always dry looking eventhough I would drench it with hair cream  hair.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Observer  On May 18, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    A diner for two perhaps?

  • raptus  On May 18, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    huh? diner?

  • Observer  On May 18, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I found your post interesting about going natural (hair that is).
    PS: The word was supposed to be dinner and I was only joking around.

  • raptus  On May 18, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I know that you are Joking……so you like nappy head girls i c

  • Observer  On May 18, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    No.no.no.no. I think that second comment was interpreted wrong. All right… I’ll come clean… I’ll have to admit…I like women with those curly hairstyles that you call ‘nappy’. They look somewhat natural. ‘Nappy head’ is such a strong word.

  • raptus  On May 18, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Its ok Observer ….it wont hurt you to share with me what is your preference. I know what kind of hair you like and i love watching them. I hope that mine will eventually get that way and if not …no biggie.

  • stolidcharisma  On May 18, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Change your hair product if your bleedy hair is dry..

    If I get a daughter (Oh please God don’t do me that, we have a deal!).. She can’t straighten her hair before 16.

  • Raptus  On May 18, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    what the hell do you know abt hair baldy

  • stolidcharisma  On May 18, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    oh gosh..

  • kagedbird  On June 23, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    I think that our idea of beauty is based upon what we have been taught. I have curly hair (do not know if it is kinky curly like you) and growing up people would say that I have good hair. What is good hair though? I think that the differences in our skin colour, hair texture, height, weight and eye/hair colour is what makes us as human beings beautiful creatures.

Leave a Reply

